BIMSTEC leaders are coming in Modi’s swearing-in ceremony

Leaders of all BIMSTEC countries have confirmed their participation in Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony on Thursday for a second term.

Mauritius Prime Minister Shri Pravind Kumar Jugnauth and Kyrgyz President Shri Sooronbay Jeenbekov also confirmed their participation at the event, the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) said.

MEA spokesperson Raveesh Kumar said President of Bangladesh Shri Abdul Hamid, Sri Lankan President Shri Maithripala Sirisena, and Prime Minister of Nepal Shri K P Sharma Oli have confirmed their participation at Modi’s swearing-in ceremony.

He said President of Myanmar Shri Win Myint and Bhutanese Prime Minister Shri Lotay Tshering also confirmed their attendance at the event.

From Thailand, Kumar said, its Special Envoy Shri Grisada Boonrach will represent the country at the ceremony.

“We look forward to receiving the dignitaries in New Delhi for the ceremony,” said the MEA spokesperson.

India invited leaders of the BIMSTEC countries as well as Kyrgyz President Jeenbekov, the current chair of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation, and Mauritius Shri PM Jugnauth for the Modi’s swearing-in.

Besides India, BIMSTEC comprises Bangladesh, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal and Bhutan.