BJP gets 25 seats with highest vote share among parties in Jharkhand

| Published on:

The Assembly election results of Jharkhand were declared on 23 December, 2019. The BJP won 25 seats but got 33.4 % votes, the highest vote share any party got in Jharkhand. Whereas, the Hemant Soren-led JMM in alliance with Congress and RJD attained a majority in the 81-member State assembly. The coalition has clinched 47 seats.

The BJP contested 79 of 81 seats in the Jharkhand assembly, supported an Independent candidate in one constituency and did not put up nominee against AJSU Party president Sudesh Mahto.

After the declaration of results, former CM Shri Raghubar Das said the BJP’s failure to cling on to the alliance with the AJSU party and the opposition parties’ ability to keep their coalition intact are the reasons for the loss in the assembly election. Shri Das said it was his defeat and not of the BJP.

Shri Das said, “I have honestly worked for the development of Jharkhand, providing electricity, roads and other schemes, covering every section of the society. In future also, I will serve as a BJP worker as party has always been working for the building of nation.”

On the same day evening, Shri Raghubar Das has tendered his resignation from the post of CM to Governor Smt. Draupadi Murmu. He will hold the office till the new government is in place.

The outcome shows that it was neither anti-incumbency nor the unpopularity of the government that made it lose the state. Inspite of getting fewer seats in compare to 2014 elections BJP got the highest vote share among parties this time and from the previous election in the state. Whereas, the JMM reaped rich dividend for its alliance with two other parties.

For the first time in Jharkhand’s history, BJP gave a stable government and also did a lot for the development of the state. Its welfare schemes like rural roads, electrification of tribal areas and free cooking gas connections for the poor were all very popular with the voters. That is the reason for the increased vote share of the party this time. The BJP had won 37 seats in the 2014 assembly polls and formed the previous government with support from AJSU.

BJP will continue serving and raising people-centric issues : PM Modi

Congratulating JMM President Shri Hemant Soren after the victory in Jharkhand Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi in a tweet said, “I Congratulate to @HemantSorenJMM Ji and the JMM-led alliance for the victory in the Jharkhand polls. Best wishes to them in serving the state.

Shri Modi also thanked the people of Jharkhand for having given BJP the opportunity to serve the state for many years.

In a tweet he said, “I thank the people of Jharkhand for having given @BJP4India the opportunity to serve the state for many years. I also applaud the hardworking Party Karyakartas for their efforts. We will continue serving the state and raising people-centric issues in the times to come”.


BJP National President and Union Home Minister Shri Amit Shah said BJP respects the mandate of Jharkhand voters, as it lost to the JMM-Congress alliance in the assembly elections. In a tweet, Shri Shah also expressed his gratitude to the people of Jharkhand for giving the BJP a chance to govern the state for five years and asserted that his party remains committed to its development. He also lauded BJP workers for their untiring efforts in the assembly polls.


BJP National Working President Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda in a tweet said, “In democracy, the order of the people is supreme. We accept the mandate received in Jharkhand elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party is always ready for the development of Jharkhand. We will continue to raise every issue for the development of the state. Thanks to our Karyakartas and people of the state”.