Grand victory for BJP in Arunachal Pradesh

| Published on:

BJP leader Shri Pema Khandu on 13 June 2024 took oath as the new Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh for the third straight term, after he was unanimously elected as the BJP Legislature Party Leader at a meeting in Itanagar on 12 June 2024. He was sworn-in by Governor Shri KT Parnaik in the presence of BJP National President Shri JP Nadda, Union Home & Cooperation Minister Shri Amit Shah and several other senior BJP leaders. Meanwhile, Shri Chowna Mein took oath as the Deputy Chief Minister. Along with Shri Khandu, 11 other MLAs were also sworn-in as ministers. The swearing-in ceremony was held at the Dorjee Khandu Convention Hall.

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi congratulated the newly formed government in Arunachal Pradesh and said, “Congratulations to Shri Pema Khandu Ji on taking oath as the Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh. I would also like to congratulate all those who took oath as Ministers. My best wishes to them for their future endeavors of serving the people. This team will ensure that the state develops at an even faster pace”.

BJP National President and Union Health & Family Welfare Minister Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda said, “Historic Moment for Arunachal Pradesh! Heartfelt congratulations to Shri @PemaKhanduBJP ji on taking the oath as the Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh for the third consecutive term, and heartfelt felicitations to Shri @ChownaMeinBJP ji on taking the oath as Deputy Chief Minister. Under the visionary guidance of Hon. Prime Minister Shri @narendramodi ji, I am confident your dedicated and innovative leadership will accelerate the


momentum of development and lead the state towards the envisioned ‘Viksit Arunachal’ and contribute effectively to Modi ji’s vision of ‘Viksit Bharat’. Over the past decade, the BJP government has transformed Arunachal Pradesh, prioritizing infrastructure, enhancing connectivity, and creating greater economic and social opportunities for its people”.

Earlier, the BJP won 46 seats in the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh assembly in the elections held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections. Though there are 60 members in the state assembly, polling took place only in 50 constituencies as 10 ruling BJP candidates, including Shri Khandu, won their seats unopposed.