Kushabhau Thakre

| Published on:

                                                                                                  Jayanti – 15 August

                                                                                               Shat-Shat Naman!

hri Kushabhau Thakre was born on August 15, 1922 in Dhar, Madhya Pradesh to parents Dr. Sundar Rao Shripati Rao Thakre and Smt. Shanta Bai Sundar Rao Thakre. He was educated at Dhar and Gwalior. In 1942 he was inducted as a Pracharak in the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh then moved to the Ratlam Division (Ratlam,Ujjain, Mandsaur, Jhabua, Chittaur,Kota, Bundi, Jhalawad,Banswada(Raj.), Dahod (Gujarat)). Shri Kushabhu Thakre remains a guiding light to thousands of karyakartas of BJP who were inspired by him to dedicate themselves to nation building process. He is remembered as true karyakarta who held high offices in the party but always remained connected to the ground and committed to ideology and organization.

RSS & Jana Sangh: Shri. Kushabhau Thakre was associated with the RSS since 1942. He became Pracharak in 1942 at Neemunch (M.P.) and then moved to the Ratlam Division(Ratlam, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Jhabua, Chittaur, Kota, Bundi, Jhalawad, Banswada(Raj.), Dahod (Gujarat)).

A glimpse of his journey through the years in the Bharatiya Jana Sangh:

1956 : Secretary (Organisation) Madhya Pradesh since its inception.

1967 : All India Secretary, Bharatiya Jana Sangh, Orissa and also additional in-charge of Gujarat.

1974 : All India Secretary (Organisation).

1977 : President, Madhya Pradesh1977 : Jailed for 19 months during Emergency.

1979 : Elected to Lok Sabha in a byeelection from Khandwa in Madhya Pradesh.

1980 : Was appointed All India Secretary of the Bharatiya Janata Party and in-charge of Gujarat, Orissa and Madhya Pradesh. Remained on this post upto 1984.

1984 to 1986 : All India Vice-President.

1986 to 1991 : All India General Secretary and in-charge of Madhya Pradesh.

1991 to 1993 : Vice-President and in-charge of Uttar Pradesh.

1993 : General Secretary (Organisation) and in-charge Madhya Pradesh.

1998 to 2000 : President All India Bharatiya Janata Party.

He left for his heavenly abode on December 28, 2003.