Om Birla elected Lok Sabha Speaker

| Published on:

BJP Lok Sabha MP and NDA nominee Shri Om Birla was on June 19 unanimously elected Lok Sabha Speaker with opposition parties, including Congress, Biju Janata Dal, Trinamool Congress and the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam supporting his candidature. The second term MP from Kota in Rajasthan succeeded Smt. Sumitra Mahajan who did not contest the Lok Sabha election.

The PM, who as leader of the House, moved a motion for Shri Birla’s election. Shri Birla has been a three-term MLA. The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, welcomed the unanimous election of Shri Om Birla as the Speaker of the seventeenth Lok Sabha, in accordance with the highest traditions of the House.

Congratulating Shri Om Birla, in his address at Lok Sabha, the Prime Minister said that it is a proud moment for all the members to have such a distinguished personality as the Speaker of the House.

He said that Shri Om Birla has been in public life for years, starting as a student leader and has been continuously serving the society. He commended the role played by Shri Om Birla in the transformation and overall development of Kota, Rajasthan.
The Prime Minister also remembered his long association with the newly elected Speaker. He underlined Shri Om Birla’s dedication to service and his contributions towards the rebuilding efforts in Kutch after the earthquake and Kedarnath after the floods. He added that the seventeenth Lok Sabha is getting a compassionate leader as its Speaker.

The Prime Minister assured the Speaker that he would receive full cooperation of the members in conducting the proceedings of the House successfully.

Brief Bio

2003-2014 Member, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly (three terms)

31 May 2004-2008 Appointed as Parliamentary Secretary (MOS) to the Govt. of Rajasthan

May, 2014 Elected to 16th Lok Sabha

14 Aug. 2014 – 30 April 2016 Member, Committee on Estimates

1 Sep. 2014 – 25 May 2019 Member, Committee on Petitions

Member, Standing Committee on Energy)

Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

3 July 2015 – 30 April 2016 Member, Sub Committee-III, Committee on Estimates

May, 2019 Re-elected to 17th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

National Vice-President: All India Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (for 6 years continuously);

State President: Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha, Rajasthan (for 6 years continuously);

District President: Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha, Kota (4 years);

Vice President: National Cooperative Consumer Association Ltd., New Delhi;

Chairman : Rajasthan State Cooperative Consumer Association Ltd., Jaipur (from June 1992 to June 1995); Kota Sahkari Upbhokta Wholesale Bhandaar Ltd., Kota (from 4 May 1987 to June 1995);

-Member: Coal India Ltd., New Delhi; Nehru Yuva Kendra, New Delhi;

-Joint Secretary: Rajasthan College of Commerce, Kota (Raj.);

President, Students Association, Govt. Sr. Sec. School, Gumanpura, Kota (in year 1979 at the tender age of 17 years)