PM dedicates 5 DRDO Young Scientists Laboratories to the Nation

Published on:

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi dedicated to the nation 5 Young Scientists Laboratories of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), in Bengaluru on January 2.

DRDO Young Scientist Laboratories (DYSLs) are located in five cities viz, Bengaluru, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata and Hyderabad. Each lab will work on a key advanced technology of importance to the development of futuristic defence systems viz, Artificial intelligence, Quantum technologies, Cognitive technologies, Asymmetric technologies and Smart materials.

The inspiration to start such laboratories came from the Prime Minister on the occasion of DRDO award function held on August 24, 2014. Shri Narendra Modi had then asked DRDO to empower the youth, by giving them decision making powers and challenging research opportunities.

Speaking on the occasion, Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi said these labs would help in shaping the pattern of research and development in the field of emerging technologies in the country.

Prime Minister asked the scientists to prepare a definite roadmap for the new decade where DRDO should be able to set the direction and pace of scientific research in various fields in India.

Addressing the scientists, Prime Minister said India’s Missile programme is one of the outstanding programmes in the world. He also appreciated the Indian Space Programme and air defence systems.

Prime Minister said India cannot be left behind in the field of scientific research. He said the Government is willing to walk the extra mile with the scientific community so that it can invest time in emerging technologies and innovations for national security.