| Published on:

Shri Tirath Singh Rawat took oath as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand in Dehradun on March 10, 2021. This comes a day after Shri Trivendra Singh Rawat stepped down as the state’s Chief Minister.

Shri Tirath Singh Rawat is the BJP’s Lok Sabha MP from Pauri Garhwal. He was earlier the President of the party in Uttarakhand between 2013 and 2015 and has served as an MLA from Chaubattakhal constituency from 2012 to 2017. He was chosen as the leader of the Uttarakhand BJP legislature party on March 10, 2021. This paved the way for his appointment as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.
Shri Rawat was sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand by Hon’ble Governor Smt. Baby Rani Maurya at the Raj Bhawan in Dehradun.

Soon after taking oath as the CM of Uttarakhand, Shri Tirath Singh Rawat was congratulated by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi. PM Shri Modi tweeted, “Congratulations to Shri Tirath Singh Rawat on taking oath as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. He brings with him vast administrative and organizational experience. I am confident under his leadership the state will continue to scale new heights of progress”.

In a tweet the BJP National President Shri JP Nadda said, “Best wishes to @TIRATHSRAWAT Ji who has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of Devbhoomi Uttarakhand.

I am absolutely sure that under the guidance of Hon’ble Prime Minister Shri @narendramodi the state will establish new developmental parameters and extend the benefits of the welfare schemes of the central government to everyone”
Union Home Minister Shri Amit Shah has also sent his best wishes for the new Uttarakhand CM Tirath Singh Rawat. In a tweet he said, “Congratulations to Tirath Singh Rawat for becoming the CM of Uttarakhand. I have faith that under the guidance of PM Shri Modi and your leadership, the state will get new energy and new standards of progress and public welfare will be established in Devbhoomi”.

After being elected as the Chief Minister-designate of Uttarakhand, Shri Rawat extended his gratitude to PM Shri Narendra Modi, BJP President Shri JP Nadda and others for trusting him with the responsibility as he is a mere party worker who comes from a small village. He said, “I had never imagined that I would reach here and will make all the efforts to meet people’s expectations and will take forward the work done in the last 4 years”.

Uttarakhand CM expands cabinet;
11 ministers take oath

Two days after Shri Tirath Singh Rawat took oath as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand, eight legislators on 12 March, 2021 took oath as Cabinet Ministers and three as Ministers of State (independent charge) for the new cabinet.
Hon’ble Governor Smt. Baby Rani Maurya administered the oath to the ministers at a ceremony in Raj Bhavan in Dehradun.

As part of the Cabinet expansion, Satpal Maharaj, Bansidhar Bhagat, Harak Singh Rawat, Bishan Singh Chuphal, Yashpal Arya, Arvind Pandey, Ganesh Joshi and Subodh Uniyal took oath as Cabinet ministers and Rekha Arya, Dhan Singh Rawat and Swami Yatiswarananda took oath as ministers with independent charge.