TMC MLA and 12 councillors join BJP

| Published on:

Trinamool Congress legislator and a dozen party Councillors joined the Bharatiya Janata Party on 18 June, 2019. Biswajit Das, the Trinamool Congress MLA from Bongaon North-West Bengal, became the sixth legislator to join BJP after the Lok Sabha election results.

With the 12 councillors switching sides, the control of Bongaon municipality effectively has gone from the TMC to the BJP.

Since the Lok Sabha poll results, TMC has lost control of five civic bodies in West Bengal. These are Bhatpara, Halisahar, Kanchrapara, Naihati and Garulia.
Noteworthy, earlier TMC legislator Sunil Singh and 12 councillors of Garulia municipality joined the BJP. On May 28, TMC legislator Subhranshu Roy, Bishnupur’s Congress-turned-TMC MLA Tusharkanti Bhattacharya and Hemtabad’s Communist Party of India (Marxist) MLA Debendra Nath Roy joined BJP camp in New Delhi. On May 29, TMC legislator from Monirul Islam switched over to the BJP. On June 17, TMC MLA Sunil Singh quit Bengal’s ruling party and crossed over to the BJP.

BJP National General Secretary Shri Kailash Vijayvargiya welcomed the MLA and councillors from Bengal.