BJP lifts its vote share from previous election

| Published on:

The Bharatiya Janata Party improved its vote share in the Delhi Assembly elections declared on 11 February, 2020. However, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party holds on to its vote share. The BJP won 38.51% of the votes cast. Its allies JD(U) got 0.91% & LJP got 0.35% votes respectively. The NDA garnners 39.77% vote share of the total vote casts in Delhi.

This was higher than the 32.3% vote share for the BJP in the 2015 elections. The ruling Aam Aadmi Party saw a slight dip in its vote share. It had won 53.57% of the votes counted. In the last Assembly elections, it had bagged 54.5% of the votes.

The elections marked the continuing decline of the Congress in the national Capital, where it was in power from 1998 to 2013. The Congress was not in second place in any of the 70 seats in the city, and 63 i.e. 90% of candidates forfeit their deposit. According to the Election Commission, a candidate has to forfeit his or her security deposit if they receive fewer than one-sixth of the total votes polled – or less than 16.66% of the votes.

Even voter turnout in the elections decreased from a record 67.47% in 2015 to 62.59%. The BJP won eight seats with an improvement on its 2015 tally of three.

Addressing a Press Conference, Delhi BJP President Shri Manoj Tiwari said that the mandate of the people in the Delhi Assembly Elections is paramount and thanked the voters besides congratulating Shri Arvind Kejriwal.

Thanking the BJP workers for their hard labour, Shri Tiwari expressed his hope that Shri Kejriwal will work in accordance with the aspirations of the people of Delhi. BJP had great hopes but we could not succeed as expected and BJP will make assessment about it.

Shri Tiwari said that a new politics of two party system has started in Delhi and we will have to make preparations accordingly because Congress has become extinct. BJP will work with full dedication through its MPs and the form in which BJP has support in Delhi and try to perform better.

PM Shri Narendra Modi congratulated Shri Kejriwal for victory in Delhi Assembly Elections. In a tweet Shri Narendra Modi congratulated Aam Aadmi Party and Shri Arvind Kejriwal for the victory in the Delhi Assembly Elections. The PM wished them the very best in fulfilling the aspirations of the people of Delhi.

BJP National President Shri JP Nadda said that BJP accepts the mandate given by the people of Delhi and it will play the role of a constructive opposition. He congratulated Aam Aadmi Party for its victory in the Delhi assembly election.