| Published on:

   Congress & JDS disqualified in people’s court

Ruling BJP led by Chief Minister Shri BS Yediyurappa in Karnataka firmly established its majority in the State Assembly after the announcement of bypoll results on 09 December, 2019. BJP won 12 out of 15 seats for which bypolls were held on 05 December, 2019.

Notable, Bypoll was held in 15 of 17 assembly seats left vacant by MLAs who resigned in July, causing the collapse of the Congress-JDS coalition. 12 of the 15 seats where bypolls were held were previously held by the Congress and the remaining three by the JDS.

Bypoll results a message for all states : PM Modi

After the victory, Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi said the Karnataka bypoll results were a message for all states that people will punish those who went against the popular mandate. Addressing a poll meeting in Jharkhand, he said those who said the BJP has limited influence in southern part of the country were punished by the people in a democratic way.

Prime Minister Shri Modi accused the Congress of stealing people’s mandate in Karnataka through back door. “The Congress and its allies subverted the mandate in Karnataka, stabbed it in the back. These parties will now have to bite the dust,” he asserted.

“The people of Karnataka have ensured that the Congress or the JDS will not be able to betray them. It’s a message for all states that the public will punish those who go against the popular mandate,” Prime Minister Shri Modi said.

The Congress, during its tenure in Karnataka, had no development agenda, he said. “The bypoll results showed that the voters have ensured that the Congress and the JD(S) don’t get to stab them in the back again,” he added.

He further added that “the people of Jharkhand should also learn from Karnataka”, that in case of a hung assembly, Jharkhand would see a Karnataka-like situation.
BJP National President and Union Home Minister Shri Amit Shah also congratulated Karnataka CM Shri BS Yediyurappa and party karyakartas for BJP’s resounding victory in the bypolls in the state.

Reacting on the victory the Karnataka BJP in a tweet said, “Today’s spectacular victory for BJP in by-elections is a victory for BJP’s “Development Politics” under the leadership of CM @BSYBJP.

By summarily rejecting the “Adjustment Politics” of @INCKarnataka and @JanataDal_S, voters have reposed their faith in BJP”.

Union Minister and former CM Shri DV Sadananda Gowda said the Karnataka by-poll results were in accordance with expectations, “It is as expected. Karanataka people need a stable government,” Shri Gowda told about the Karnataka by-poll results.

He said good governance and development are the two key areas which the BJP government has taken care of. “Good governance and development is something that was missing during coalition government of JDS-Congress,” he said.

After a dramatic stand-off in July, the MLAs who quit were disqualified by then-Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar and barred from elections till 2023. However, the Supreme Court backed the disqualification but allowed the members to contest. The election saw former allies Congress and JDS contest separately. Relations between the two, never smooth, broke down after their coalition crashed.

Now after this victory, Chief Minister Shri BS Yediyurappa can give a stable government in Karnataka as the BJP bags the required six seats to maintain the majority in the state government.

While speaking to media persons, Chief Minister Shri BS Yediyurappa said that without any problem, the BJP can give a “pro-people and a stable government in the state”.

Expressing joy over BJP’s stellar performance in the Assembly by-elections in Karnataka, the BJP state President Shri Nalin Kumar Kateel said, “Congress and JD(S) have been disqualified in the people’s court”.

Shri Kateel said BJP made its presence felt for the first time in Mandya district. “There were some regions where we never had our presence such as KR Pet and Chikkaballapura. Mandya had been the JD(S) citadel but today the BJP has won in KR Pet in Mandya district,” he added.

The BJP state President further said I am confident that the Yediyurappa government would successfully complete its three-and-half year term and lead the state towards progress.

Narendra Modi @narendramodi

I thank the people of Karnataka for placing their faith in @BJP4India. I congratulate CM @BSYBJP, team of Ministers in the state and the @BJP4Karnataka Karyakartas for serving people with utmost diligence. Karnataka has voted for development and punished opportunism.

Amit Shah @AmitShah

Congratulations to CM @BSYBJP ji, Shri @nalinkateel and our karyakartas on BJP’s resounding victory in Karnataka bypolls. I thank people of Karnataka for their unwavering faith in BJP. Our government will continue to transform Karnataka under the guidance of PM @narendramodi ji.

Jagat Prakash Nadda @JPNadda

Bharatiya Janata Party’s landslide victory in #KarnatakaBypolls is possible for the confidence people on Prime Minister Shri @narendramodi’s leadership and BJP’s policies. The people of the state have reposed their faith in the BJP government of Karnataka more strongly.

For this victory, I congratulate the Chief Minister of Karnataka @BSYBJP and State President Shri @nalinkateel Ji and heartily congratulate the BJP workers and the people of the state.

B.S. Yediyurappa @BSYBJP

I am happy that people have given a very good verdict in #KarnatakaByelection. Now, without any problem we can give a pro-people and a stable government.