BJP wins 47 seats in Gujarat municipality elections

| Published on:

The BJP continued its winning performance in Gujarat by bagging 47 out of 75 municipalities in the recently held Gujarat Municipality elections. The main opposition, Congress continuing its poor performance got 16 municipalities, while the NCP and BSP emerged victorious on one each.

Voting for the 75 municipalities was held on last on 17 February, 2018 and the results were declared on 19 February 2018.
“The BJP has won 47 municipalities, the Congress 16, the NCP and BSP one each. While Independent candidates won four municipalities, six others remained hung as no party gained a clear majority there,” State Election Commissioner said.
Three of the six municipalities that delivered a hung verdict are Khedbhramaha in Sabarkantha district, Gariadhar in Bhavnagar district and Pardi in Valsad district, where both the BJP and the Congress won 14 seats each.

“Of the total 2,060 seats in these 75 municipalities spread across 24 districts, the BJP won 1,167, Congress 630, NCP 28 and BSP 15 seats. Other small political parties won 18 seats, while Independent candidates emerged winners on 202 seats,” the Commission said.

In Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi’s home town Vadnagar in Mehsana district, the BJP won 27 of the 28 seats, while the remaining seat went to the Congress.

As the results were declared, BJP workers started celebrating at the party headquarters in Gandhinagar. “This is a victory against the negative politics and programmes of the Congress. The people of Gujarat have once again rejected the negativity that the Congress is generating,” BJP spokesperson Shri Bharat Pandya said.

This is the first major election held in Gujarat after last year’s high-decibel assembly elections, in which the BJP had registered a sixth straight victory in the state.