India won a non-permanent seat at UNSC for 2021-22

| Published on:

India won a non-permanent seat at the powerful UN Security Council for a two-year term (2021-2022) has been unanimously endorsed by 55-member of the Asia-Pacific group at the world body. It is a major diplomatic win for india. The India`s win became so important as Pakistan and China, both have been at loggerhead with India in UN, supported the India`s move for permanent candidature. Each year the 193-member General Assembly elects five non-permanent members for a two-year term at the UN high-table.

The five permanent members of the Council are China, France, Russia, UK and the US.

The 10 non-permanent seats are distributed on a regional basis : five for African and Asian States; one for Eastern European States; two for the Latin American and Caribbean States; and two for Western European and other States.
(With inputs from PTI)