Nandkumar Singh Chauhan Passes Away

| Published on:

Shri Nandkumar Singh Chauhan passed away at Medanta Hospital in Gurgaon on 2 March 2021, at age 68.

PM condoles the demise

Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has expressed grief over the demise of Shri Nandkumar Singh Chauhan. In a tweet, the Prime Minister said, “Saddened by the demise of Lok Sabha MP from Khandwa Shri Nandkumar Singh Chauhan Ji. He will be remembered for his contributions to Parliamentary proceedings, organizational skills and efforts to strengthen the BJP across Madhya Pradesh. Condolences to his family. Om Shanti”.

‘devoted to service of society and organization’

BJP National President Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda expressing grief over demise of the leader,said,
“ Distressed by the news of death of former BJP MP President Shri Nandkumar Singh Chauhanji. Nandkumar ji’s entire life was devoted to the service of the state, society and organization. I pray for the peace of the departed soul from God and express my condolences to his family. Om Shanti.”

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan said in a tweet, “Nandu Bhaiya (as he was popularly known) gave his best to the party as the state BJP president. I offer my tributes to him” Former Union Minister and senior BJP leader Uma Bharti and state Congress also condoled the death of the parliamentarian.

Shri Nandkumar Singh Chauhan born on 8 September 1952 was a member of Lok Sabha from Khandwa at the time of his death.

His first major foray in politics was from the now-defunct Shahpur Vidhan Sabha constituency, once a segment of Khandwa Lok Sabha seat. He first contested Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha election from Shahpur in 1980, as a candidate of BJP, but lost that time. He was first elected to Madhya Pradesh Vidhan Sabha from Shahpur in 1985, and was re-elected in 1990 and 1993. He vacated the assembly seat when he was elected to Lok Sabha in 1996 from Khandwa (Lok Sabha constituency). He was elected to Lok Sabha six times from Khandwa, in 1996, 1998, 1999, 2004, 2014 (16th Lok Sabha) and 2019, losing only in 2009. He was also BJP State President of Madhya Pradesh.