| Published on:

Bharatiya Janata Party National President Shri JP Nadda appointed new BJP State Presidents of Madhya Pradesh, Sikkim, Kerala, Maharashtra and Mumbai. BJP National General Secretary Shri Arun Singh made these announcements in official communications.

Madhya Pradesh

Shri Vishnu Dutt Sharma appointed as the new Madhya Pradesh State President. Shri Sharma replaced Jabalpur Lok Sabha MP Shri Rakesh Singh, who had been serving as the State BJP President from April 2018.
Presently Shri Vishnu Dutt Sharma is the Lok Sabha MP from Khajuraho and is General Secretary in the MP State BJP team. The appointment of a new State BJP President in Madhya Pradesh had been pending ever since Shri Rakesh Singh’s term came to an end.

Shri Sharma is credited for strengthening the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) in Madhya Pradesh in 1990s.


Besides Madhya Pradesh, the BJP National President has also appointed Shri Dal Bahadur Chauhan as New President of the party’s Sikkim unit.
Shri Dal Bahadur Chauhan was appointed on 15 February, 2020 as BJP Sikkim President for a second consecutive term. He thanked the party’s leadership for reposing faith in him and said that the entire State unit will try to take the party to a new height with the support of Karyakartas and office bearers in the state.


Likewise, Shri K Surendran has been appointed as the new BJP State President of Kerala. Party National President Shri JP Nadda announced the appointment of Shri Surendran through a press statement in New Delhi on 16 February, 2020.

The post of party State President has been lying vacant ever since former President Shri P S Sreedharan Pillai was appointed as Mizoram governor in October last year.

Shri Surendran started his political career as a worker of ABVP and rose through the ranks. He had been serving the party as one of its State General Secretaries since 2009. His active role in the Sabarimala agitation against the entry of women made him the face of BJP during Sabarimala agitation. He was jailed for 22 days during the stir.

Maharashtra & Mumbai

Party National President Shri JP Nadda also reappointed Shri Chandrakant Patil as Maharashtra BJP President. He will continue as the President of Maharashtra. Shri Chandrakant Patil was first appointed as the BJP’s State President in July last year, just months before the Assembly election after then State President Shri Raosaheb Danve resigned from the post following his induction into the Narendra Modi led NDA government in Delhi.

Meanwhile, Shri Mangal Prabhat Lodha has been appointed as the Mumbai unit President of BJP. Shri Lodha will take over the post from former Education Minister Shri Ashish Shelar, who served two terms as the Mumbai unit President. The decision over the appointments has been taken ahead of the State Executive meeting.