Uttar Pradesh government includes 17 OBC castes in Scheduled Castes list

| Published on:

Uttar Pradesh government added 17 castes including Nishad, Bind, Mallah, Kewat, Kashyap, Bhar, Dhivar, Batham, Machua, Prajapati, Rajbhar, Kahar, Pottar, Dhimar, Manjhi, Tuhaha and Gaur, which previously belonged to the Other Backward Castes (OBC) category to Scheduled Castes (SC) list.

It has also directed all District officers to issue Caste Certificate to the families of those belonging to these 17 castes.

The decision by the UP government was taken late on Friday.

All the castes added in the SC list previously were under the Other Backward Castes (OBC) list.