Pushkar Singh Dhami Takes Oath As Chief Minister Of Uttarakhand For Straight Second Time

| Published on:


In the presence of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, BJP legislature party leader Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami on 23 March, 2022 took oath as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand for the second time at Dehradun’s Parade Ground. Eight Cabinet ministers were sworn in along with Shri Dhami. The names includes – Shri Satpal Maharaj, Shri Subodh Uniyal, Shri Dhan Singh Rawat, Smt Rekha Arya, Shri Ganesh Joshi, Shri Chandan Ram Das, Shri Saurabh Bahuguna and Shri Premchand Aggarwal.

Uttarakhand Governor Lt Gen (retd) Gurmit Singh administered the oath of office to Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami and eight cabinet ministers.

BJP's Pushkar Singh Dhami takes oath as the Chief Minister

Along with PM Shri Modi, BJP National President Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda, Defence Minister Shri Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Shri Amit Shah, Union Minister Shri Nitin Gadkari, CMs of BJP ruled states and other dignitaries were also present at the grand event.

Earlier, The central observers Shri Rajnath Singh and Smt. Meenakshi Lekhi announced the name of Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami as the new legislative party leader after a meeting held with elected BJP MLA’s in Uttarakhand.

Before his swearing-in ceremony, Shri Dhami offered prayers at the Tapkeshwar Mahadev temple as well as a Hanuman Mandir at Chakrata Road, Dehradun.
The BJP won 47 seats in the 70-member Assembly in the recently concluded state elections. With this, the BJP has become the first party ever in Uttarakhand’s 21-year-old history to return to government in consecutive elections.

The Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi congratulated Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami on taking oath as Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.

In a tweet, the Prime Minister said; “Many congratulations to Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami ji on taking oath as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. In the last 5 years, Devbhoomi has made rapid progress in every field. I am sure that you and all your ministers will give further impetus to it, setting a new paradigm of development according to the aspirations of the people.”

BJP National President Shri JP Nadda in a tweet said, “Heartiest congratulations to @NBirenSingh Ji on being sworn-in as the CM of Manipur and to all the members of the newly elected cabinet. Under the leadership and guidance of PM @narendramodi, Manipur will soar to new heights & prosperity, giving rise to a new dawn of development.”

Pushkar Singh Dhami:
Life Sketch

Pushkar Singh Dhami became the Chief Minister for the second time in a row,  eight ministers

• Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami was born in 1975 and is the son of an ex-serviceman. He was born in Kanalichhina village in Pithoragarh district of Uttarakhand.

• Graduated from the University of Lucknow with degrees in human resource management and industrial relations, he also holds a law degree.

• He joined Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad in 1990

• He served as Officer on Special Duty to the then CM Shri Bhagat Singh Koshiyari from 2001-2002

• He served as the President of BJP’s Uttarakhand Yuva Morcha from 2002-2008

• He was elected MLA from Khatima constituency in 2012; re-elected in 2017

• He was appointed state BJP vice president in 2016

• He took oath as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on July 4, 2021