Union Territories of J&K, Ladakh come into being

| Published on:

New Indian map shows both UTs

Two new Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh came into being on 31 October, 2019 putting into effect the reorganization of the erstwhile state.
The implementation of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, which got President’s assent on 9 August, means the special status enjoyed by Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 comes to an end after 72 years.

The Survey of India has also redrawn the map of India to depict the newly formed Union Territories (UT) of Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) and Ladakh. Areas such as Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and the Tribal Territory of 1947 that have been occupied by Pakistan are included in the Ladakh UT. Other areas in Pakistan occupied Kashmir (PoK) such as Mirpur and Muzaffarabad have been included in the J&K UT.

The President of India issued a notification on 02 November, 2019 to define the districts in the two UTs that came into being on 31 October as per the J&K Reorganisation Act, 2019. “The new UT of Ladakh consists of two districts of Kargil and Leh. The rest of the former State of Jammu and Kashmir is in the new UT of J&K,” the Home Ministry said.

In 1947, J&K had 14 districts: Kathua, Jammu, Udhampur, Reasi, Anantnag, Baramulla, Poonch, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad, Leh and Ladakh, Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory.

By 2019, they were reorganised into 28 districts. The new districts were Kupwara, Bandipur, Ganderbal, Srinagar, Budgam, Pulwama, Shupian, Kulgam, Rajouri, Ramban, Doda, Kishtivar, Samba and Kargil.

“The Leh district of the new Union Territory of Ladakh has been defined in the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Second Order, 2019, issued by the President of India, to include the areas of the districts of Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory of 1947, in addition to the remaining areas of Leh and Ladakh districts of 1947, after carving out the Kargil District,” the notification said.