Out of 85 reserved Dalit seats in UP, BJP won 75

| Published on:

Assembly Election Results 2017

The BJP won even reserved Dalit constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, earlier what was seen as a captive vote bank of the BSP. Out of 85 reserved seats in UP, the BJP won 75. Out of 75 three seats each went to BJP’s ally, the Apna Dal and Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party.

This came as a surprise because the Dalits comprising 21% of the state’s population were seen as hostile to the BJP and favoring the BSP, which ended up with just two seats. The Samajwadi Party-Congress alliance secured seven and a lone independent won. The BJP victory decimated the conventional logic that SC do not vote for the BJP and, instead, try to defeat the BJP.

BJP secured massive victories in Muslim dominated areas in UP

Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav have all reasons to be upset with the Uttar Pradesh poll results. Not only their parties failed to return to power, the BJP secured massive victories in Muslim dominated areas – where SP and BSP used to enjoy lead in previous polls. From all six constituencies of Muzaffarnagar to Deoband in Saharanpur, Bareilly, Bijnor and Moradabad where Muslims dominate the demography, the BJP swept the polls.

Both in Western and in Eastern UP, BJP has found strong support from Muslim community. There was huge turnout of Muslims in PM Shri Modi’s rally in Varanasi. In Mirzapur and Varanasi, Muslims constitute the strong weaver force of the handloom sector. Political analysts believe that Modi Government’s recent flagship programmes like Gurur-Shishya Parampara programme offering paid training to unemployed Muslims is likely to have helped the party win minorities’ support in the state election.

A record 32 women MLAs of BJP out of 38 elected to UP Assembly


When the 17th Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly convenes, there will be a record 32 women MLAs of BJP out of 38 attend the house since Independence. Victory of 32 women MLAs from one political party is also a record in UP. BJP gave tickets to 43 women, the highest among all the parties. Of these, 32 won. From BSP and Congress, two women won, while one each from the Samajwadi Party and Apna Dal were also elected.
According to records available with the Election Commission, in 2007, the number of elected women MLAs were a mere three, but in 2012 a record 35 were elected. In 2017, this number has gone up even further, which is a welcome sign.