Biplab Kumar Deb takes oath as Tripura Chief Minister

| Published on:

PM and BJP National President attended the ceremony

Shri Biplab Kumar Deb, the 48-year-old Tripura BJP President was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tripura’s first Bharatiya Janata Party government in Agartala on 09 March, 2018. The swearing-in ceremony held at the Assam Rifles ground was attended by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, BJP National President Shri Amit Shah, Union Home Minister Shri Rajnath Singh, senior BJP leaders Shri Lal Krishna Advani and Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi and other leaders of the party.

Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states like Shri Vijay Rupani (Gujarat), Shri Shivraj Singh Chouhan (Madhya Pradesh), Shri Sarbananda Sonowal (Assam) and Shri Raghubar Das (Jharkhand), besides others, also attended the function. Outgoing Tripura CM Manik Sarkar also attended the event.

Shri Jishnu Deb Burman, a member of the royal family, took oath as the Deputy CM of the State.

BJP ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) gets two berths in the 12-member ministry of the new government.
After taking oath Shri Biplab Kumar Deb said, “People inspire me and they are my Dal, Roti”. He assured the people of Tripura of development, something which wasn’t done by the previous government. He said, “I love the people of Tripura. I even love Manik Sarkar, but I am annoyed that they got so much time but didn’t utilize the resources of the state to develop it. We will rebuild it from scratch.”

To the 3.7 million people in Tripura he said, “Treat me as your son, brother, not as the CM,”. “Pull my ears to put me on the right track if I err in providing you good governance,” he added.

PM Shri Narendra Modi said the BJP-led government will “be for those who voted for us and for those who did not.” Addressing the Left Front leaders, he said that their long experience in running government in Tripura can guide the newly-formed inexperienced one.

Addressing the crowd, BJP National President Shri Amit Shah said that the Tripura victory has strengthened BJP’s goal of ruling 7 of 8 Northeast States.

Noteworthy, the BJP’s arrival in Tripura following a spectacular electoral victory is a humiliating defeat for the unchallenged 25-year rule of the Left. The historic verdict dethroned the four times Chief Minister Manik Sarkar and demolished his almost impenetrable fortress. However, this time the Left could manage only 16 seats, down 33 from last time. The party now rules only one state ; Kerala.

The BJP, which had won no seat in 2013, got 43 seats and with allies got 50 per cent vote share this time in the state.
Earlier, BJP National General Secretary and North East in-charge Shri Ram Madhav and Chief Minister-Elect Shri Biplab Kumar Deb had just made a visit to the CPM party office that is going to be Manik Sarkar’s home to invite him to the swearing in ceremony in state capital Agartala. Shri Manik Sarkar accepted their invite and attended the swearing in ceremony.

Shri Biplab Kumar Deb: Profile

Born in 1969 in a middle class family in Tripura’s Gomati District, in a village called Rajdhar Nagar, Shri Biplab Kumar Deb graduated from Tripura’s Udaipur College in 1999 and shifted to New Delhi for his higher Studies and Masters. Soon after that he joined the RSS, where he was a volunteer for 16 years, training under prominent leaders.
Two years ago, he was called back home where he replaced Shri Sudhindra Dasgupta, the longest-serving BJP President in Tripura to become the youngest party President in any state. His efforts in building the party and driving it to a massive win were acknowledged by the top brass of the party and he was chosen to lead the state. He took oath as the 10th Chief Minister of Tripura on 09 March, 2018.

At present Shri Biplab Deb is the Youngest Chief Minister of India currently after Maharashtra Chief Minister Shri Devendra Fadnavis.