Neiphiu Rio took oath as the new Chief Minister of Nagaland

| Published on:

The NDA government led by Shri Neiphiu Rio, along with the council of ministers took oath on 08 March, 2018 at the Kohima Local Ground in Nagaland. In a first, the Chief Minister and council of ministers took oath in full public view. The venue holds significance as the announcement of Nagaland’s statehood on December 01, 1963 was made from here by the then President of India Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan.

Governor Shri PB Acharya has administered the oath of office and secrecy to Shri Rio and the 11 ministers of his government, in the presence of the BJP National President Shri Amit Shah, Union Home Minister Shri Rajnath Singh and other senior leaders. Among others Assam Chief Minister Shri Sarbananda Sonowal, Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Shri Pema Khandu, Meghalaya Chief Minister Shri Conrad Sangma and other leaders attended the ceremony. Thousands of common people also attended the ceremony.

The Bharatiya Janata Party had entered into a pre-poll alliance with Shri Rio who floated the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) just ahead of the Assembly Elections. The BJP got 12 seats while the NDPP got 17 seats. The NDA government has taken over the reins of the North-Eastern state with the support of 34 MLAs.

The newly-mandated alliance government, comprising 34 elected members of the NDPP, BJP, National People’s Party (NPP), JD(U) and an Independent, however, has decided to take the oath before the public.

Shri Rio has assumed the charge of Nagaland Chief Minister for the fourth time. He had served his three previous terms between 2003 and May 2014.