BJP led NDA stays ahead in Assembly bypolls

| Published on:

Results were declared for 51 Assembly seats and two Lok Sabha constituencies spread across 17 states and one Union Territory on 24 October, 2019 where bypolls were held on 21 October, 2019. The BJP and its allies held nearly 30 of these assembly seats, while the Congress had won 12 and the rest were with regional parties.

Among the states ruled by the BJP and its allies, results were declared for the maximum 10 seats in UP, followed by six in Gujarat, five in Bihar, four in Assam and two each in Himachal Pradesh and Tamil Nadu. The other states where the bypolls were held are Punjab (4 seats), Kerala (5 seats), Sikkim (3 seats), Rajasthan (2 seats) and one seat each in Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Puducherry, Meghalaya and Telangana.

17 states saw by-elections to several Assembly seats. In Uttar Pradesh, Bypolls were held to 10 seats, with the BJP sweeping 7 and the Samajwadi Party winning 3. In telangana’s Huzurngar, the TRS emerged victorious, defeating the Congress. The AIADMK won both Vikravandi and Nanguneri seats in Tamil Nadu. The BJP won 2 seats in Sikkim, while the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha won 1. Congress and the RLP won 1 seat each in Rajasthan. Congress won 3 seats in Punjab, while SAD won 1. Congress bagged the Puducherry seat, while Congress won the Jhabua seat from MP. Congress and the CPI(M) dominated in Kerala.

In politically crucial Uttar Pradesh, where the fight is for 10 assembly constituencies, elections are being seen as a litmus test for the opposition parties which failed to make an impact in the Lok Sabha elections against the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in May. But even this time the opposition failed to perform impressively in the state.

Counting of votes was also held in Satara (Maharashtra) and Samastipur (Bihar) Lok Sabha seats, which were held by the NCP and the LJP respectively.

A moderate turnout of 57 per cent was recorded in the by-elections held on 21 October, 2019.

BJP wins both Dharamshala, Pachhad seats in Himachal bypolls

The ruling BJP on 24 October, 2019 retained both Dharamshala and Pachhad seats in Himachal Pradesh where bypolls were held earlier this week.

In Pachhad, Reena Kashyap of the BJP defeated her nearest rival, former minister Gangu Ram Musafir of the Congress by a margin of 2,742 votes.

In Dharamshala, BJP’s Vishal Nehria defeated his nearest rival Rakesh Kumar by a margin of 6,758 votes. Kumar was a BJP rebel and contested as an independent candidate.

Vijay Inder Karan of the Congress lost his security deposit as he failed to get even the required one-sixth of total polled valid votes. In the 2017 Assembly elections, the victory margin of Kishan Kapoor of the BJP over Sudhir Sharma of the Congress was of 2,997 votes in Dharamshala.

The by-elections to Pachhad and Dharamshala assembly seats were necessitated after sitting BJP MLAs Suresh Kashyap and Kishan Kapoor were elected to the Lok Sabha.


The BJP has emerged victorious in seven seats in bypolls to 11 Assembly constituencies in the Uttar Pradesh bypolls. The opposition, led by the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) put up a strong fight but their challenged faded as the votes rolled in for Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath’s government. The SP claimed three seats.
In total, bypolls were held for the Gangoh, Rampur, Iglas, Lucknow Cantonment, Govind Nagar, Manikpur, Pratapgarh, Zaidpur, Jalalpur, Balha, and Ghosi. Of these, Iglas, Zaidpur and Balha are reserved seats. The BJP contested a total of 10 seats, leaving Pratapgarh to its ally and it has managed to retain seven.

NDA ahead in Assembly bypolls

BJP ally Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) retained the Samastipur Lok Sabha seat in Bihar. LJP’s Prince Raj, son of party MP Ram Chandra Paswan, whose death in July necessitated the bypoll, defeated Ashok Kumar of the Congress by a margin of 1,02,090 votes. Out of six assembly seats the JD(U) won one seat in Bihar.
The ruling BJP and opposition Congress won three seats each in the six bypolls in Gujarat.

The Rashtriya Loktantrik Party, supported by the BJP as an alliance partner, retained Khinvsar, where the by poll was necessitated after the election of RLP founder-president Hanuman Beniwal to the Lok Sabha from Nagaur.

NDA partner the Akali Dal won one seat in Punjab.

In the northeast, the BJP won three of the four by polls in Assam — Ratabari, Rangapara and Sonari — while one seat Jania was won by the All-India United Democratic Front. An independent, Chakat Aboh, won the Khonsa West seat of Arunachal Pradesh.

The BJP won both seats in Himachal Pradesh that had by-polls. In Kerala, two seats each went to the CPI(M) and the Congress and one to the IUML. The BJD and the Congress won one each in Odisha and Puducherry respectively.