Bjp National Executive unanimously extends Party National President’s tenure

| Published on:

On the second day of the National Executive Meet on 17 January 2023, BJP National President Shri JP Nadda’s tenure was extended unanimously till June 2024.

Defence Minister Shri Rajnath Singh moved the resolution and the National Executive endorsed it unanimously. Announcing the decision of the party, Union Home and Cooperation Minister Shri Amit Shah said that Shri JP Nadda has transformed the charismatic leadership of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi into a mandate for the BJP. “Under him the BJP will get a stronger mandate in 2024 and Modiji will be Prime Minister again,” Shri Shah said.

Addressing the media on 17 January, 2023 outside the NDMC Convention Hall, Shri Shah lauded Shri JP Nadda’s tireless work behind the growth of the BJP as a robust organisation. In the last one year, the party has extended its outreach programmes to 1,30,000 booths where it considered itself weak, he said.

Noteworthy, Shri JP Nadda took charge as the National President of BJP on January 20 2020, and led the BJP during the pandemic time and launched a programme- “Sewa hi Sanghatan”- under which the party workers across the country got engaged in relief works and free ration distribution for the pandemic affected people. “Shri Naddaji has connected the BJP with the concept of service with vibrancy,” he said.

Union Home Minister said the BJP won 73 Assembly bypolls out of 120 held during his tenure.

It was under Shri Nadda’s leadership that the BJP performed well in Bihar, and again formed the government in Maharashtra and Haryana.

The BJP won Assembly polls in Assam, Manipur, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and Goa.

Under Shri Nadda’s leadership, the party converted PM Shri Narendra Modi’s magical leadership into votes and the party registered a record-breaking victory by winning 156 Assembly seats in Gujarat.

The party has also grown strong in the Northeast.

The BJP is in government in Assam, Tripura and Manipur as well as part of the ruling coalition in Meghalaya and Nagaland.