Tripura to vote on February 16; Nagaland, Meghalaya on 27

| Published on:

The Election Commission of India on January 18 announced the schedule for Nagaland, Tripura, and Meghalaya Assembly polls. As per the announcements, Tripura will vote on February 16, Meghalaya and Nagaland will vote on February 27, and the counting for all the three States will be held on March 02. All these three elections will be held in one phase.

In Tripura, the date of the issue of gazette notification is January 21 and the last date for filing nominations is January 30. The last date for the withdrawal of candidatures is on February 02. In Meghalaya and Nagaland, the gazette notification will be issued on January 31. The date for filing nominations is February 07.

The term of Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura assemblies will end on March 12, 15 and 25, respectively. A total of 9,125 polling stations will be there in the three states, which will be 634 more than in 2018. Webcasting will be there in 73% of polling stations. 376 polling stations will be managed by women.

BJP National President Shri JP Nadda welcomed the announcements of the Election Commission and called upon its leaders and Karyakartas to ensure the victory of the party in all the State Assembly elections scheduled for next month. He also noted that the year is crucial in the run-up to the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.