BJP Registers Massive Victory In Municipal Board Elections In Assam

| Published on:

The BJP has registered a massive victory in the Municipal Board elections in Assam on March 9, bagging 75 civic bodies out of 80, as per poll results declared by the State Election Commission. The BJP coalition won total 77 civic bodies. The principal opposition party Congress, only manged to win one civic body. While others, including Independents, bagged two civic bodies.

According to state election commission BJP clinched a total of 742 wards and total 807 along with its collation partners, while only 71 were won by the Congress. Others emerged victorious in 99 wards.

Altogether 59 candidates, including 58 from the BJP and one from the Congress, won uncontested. Polling for 80 municipal boards across the state was held on March 6 through electronic voting machines (EVMs) for the first time in the history of civic elections in Assam. An estimated 70 per cent voter turnout was registered.
Commenting on the results, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said: “Gratitude to the people of Assam for blessing BJP and our allies in the recently concluded municipal elections. “This shows their faith in our party’s development agenda. I applaud our hardworking Karyakartas for their efforts and service among people.”

BJP National President Shri JP Nadda attributed the municipal poll triumph to the confidence of people in the Centre’s ‘Act East Policy’ and said, BJP’s massive victory in the municipal elections of Assam shows that the public’s confidence in PM Shri @narendramodiji’s “Act East” policy has been welcomed by the people of Assam.
I congratulate and thank the people of Assam, CM Shri @himantabiswa, @BJP4Assam and its allies. Union Home Minister Amit Shah said the victory reflects the “unwavering trust” of people in the Modi-led BJP’s politics of development.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said the massive mandate is for growth and development, and will inspire the party to pursue the agenda of progress with renewed vigour. “I congratulate all @BJP4Assam karyakartas & leaders who worked tirelessly spreading the development ideals of Adarniya PM Shri @narendramodi ji. “I bow my head in gratitude to the people of Assam for the thumping victory of candidates from @BJP4Assam & its allies in the municipal elections,” he said in a series of tweets.

BJP wins Assam By-election

BJP retained the Majuli (ST) assembly constituency with its candidate Bhuban Gam defeating the joint opposition candidate Chittaranjan Basumatary of the Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) by 42,141 votes in a by-poll and manage to get 69.86 percent vote share. Gam secured 67,242 votes against Basumatary’s 25,101 while the third candidate, Bhaity Richong of SUCI(C), got 2,265 votes. The results of the by-election were declared on March 10.

The Congress did not contest the by-poll and left the seat to the AJP. The by-poll to the constituency was held on March 7.Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma thanked the people of Majuli island for reposing their faith in the ruling alliance. “The big win of @BJP4ASSAM candidate Bhuban Gam in the bypoll to Majuli legislative assembly constituency reflects public trust in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s agenda of growth and his vision of ‘Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas, Sabka Vishwas and Sabka Prayas’,” Sarma tweeted.

In the 126-member assembly, the ruling coalition now has 79 MLAs. The BJP has 63, AGP nine and UPPL seven. On the other hand, the opposition Congress has 27 members, AIUDF 15, BPF three, CPI(M) one and one independent.