Devendra Fadnavis sworn in as CM for second time in Maharashtra

| Published on:

                             Ajit Pawar takes oath as Deputy CM

Maharashtra BJP legislature party leader and former CM Shri Devendra Fadnavis was sworn in as Maharashtra Chief Minister once again and consecutively for the second time and NCP leader Shri Ajit Pawar took oath as Deputy CM in Raj Bhawan on 23 November, 2019.

Hon’ble Governor Shri Bhagat Singh Koshyari administered the oath at Maharashtra Raj Bhawan after the President’s rule, which was imposed in the state a fortnight ago, was revoked in the same morning.

Shortly after taking oath, Shri Devendra Fadnavis said, “I would like to express my gratitude to NCP’s Ajit Pawar ji, he took this decision to give a stable government to Maharashtra and come together with BJP. Some other leaders also came with us and we staked claim to form government.”

Shri Ajit Pawar said, “I took this decision as the discussions of the alliance of the three parties Congress, NCP and Shiv Sena was not ending. There was a need to give a stable government in Maharashtra.”

This decision came only after a long gap of around a month after the election results were out in the state and giving enough time to the opposition Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress to form the government.

Earlier, on 30 October, 2019 Chief Minister Shri Devendra Fadnavis was re-elected as BJP legislature party leader.

Shortly after the swearing-in, Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi tweeted his congratulations to both CM Shri Fadnavis and Deputy CM Shri Pawar.

Conspiracy to control financial capital : BJP

In the afternoon, Union Minister Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad speaking to the media said it was a conspiracy by Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress to control the financial capital of India through the back door.

“We had the electoral and moral mandate to form the government in Maharashtra,” he said.

He said Hon’ble President Shri Ram Nath Kovind signed the proclamation for revocation of the central rule and the gazette notification to this effect was issued by Union Home Secretary at 5.47 am in the morning.

Noteworthy, the state was plunged into a political crisis post election results on 24 October, 2019 after BJP’s alliance partner Shiv Sena broke its three-decade-long ties with the party only to get chief minister’s post in the state despite having only around half the total seats of BJP.

The BJP and Sena, which fought the Assembly polls in alliance, had secured a comfortable majority by winning 105 and 56 seats, respectively, in the 288-member Assembly. The Congress and the NCP, pre-poll allies, won 44 and 54 seats, respectively.

t Narendra Modi @narendramodi

Congratulations to @Dev_Fadnavis Ji and @AjitPawarSpeaks Ji on taking oath as the CM and Deputy CM of Maharashtra respectively. I am confident they will work diligently.

This was followed by BJP National President and Union Home Minister Shri Amit Shah who congratulated both the leaders and said this government will be committed for the development of the state.

Amit Shah @AmitShah

Congratulations to Shri @Dev_Fadnavis Ji and Shri @AjitPawarSpeaks Ji on taking oath as the CM and Deputy CM of Maharashtra respectively. I believe this government will be committed for the development and welfare of the state and establish new milestones of development.

Congratulating both the leaders in Maharashtra BJP National Working President Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda in his twitter message said;

Jagat Prakash Nadda @JPNadda

I Congratulate @Dev_Fadnavis Ji and @AjitPawarSpeaks Ji on taking oath as the CM and Deputy CM of Maharashtra respectively. I am sure that under the guidance of Hon PM @narendramodi Ji, BJP-NCP Gov will take Maharashtra to newer heights.