Government constitutes 8-member committee to examine ‘One Nation One Election’

| Published on:

The Union Law Ministry issued a notification on the ‘One Nation One Election’ committee on 02 September, 2023. The committee has former President of India Shri Ram Nath Kovind as chairman and seven other members which includes Union Home Minister Shri Amit Shah, Senior Congress leader Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Shri Ghulam Nabi Azad, Shri NK Singh, Shri Subhash C. Kashyap, Shri Harish Salve and Shri Sanjay Kothari.

The Union Law Minister Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal will attend the meetings of the committee as a special invitee, while Legal Affairs Secretary Shri Niten Chandra will be secretary to the panel.

The committee will examine and recommend specific amendments to the Constitution, the Representation of the People Act and any other laws and rules which would require amendments for the purpose of holding simultaneous elections.
It will also examine and recommend, if the amendments to the Constitution would require ratification by the States.

The committee will also analyse and recommend possible solutions to scenarios such as hung House, adoption of no-confidence motion, or defection or any such other event in case of simultaneous elections.

The committee will hear and entertain all persons, representations and communications which in its opinion can facilitate its work and enable it to finalise its recommendations.