‘Honoured to serve India’

| Published on:

PM Narendra Modi and 57 Ministers take oath of office and secrecy

After a landslide victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the leader of NDA Shri Narendra Modi has been sworn in as the Prime Minister of India for the second term on 30 May, 2019 in New Delhi. Hon’ble President Shri Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath of office and secrecy to Shri Narendra Modi and his cabinet at a glittering and grand swearing-in ceremony. Shri Modi took the stage dressed in his trademark white kurta-pyjama and read the oath of office in Hindi.
The grand ceremony was held at the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan, the same venue as in 2014.

Over 8,000 guests attended the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Apart from the leaders of BIMSTEC countries, including Bangladesh, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal and Bhutan, heads of the states from Kyrgyzstan and Mauritius graced the ceremony touted as the biggest ever event that to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena, Bhutanese Prime Minister Lotay Tshering, Bangladesh President Abdul Hamid, Special Envoy of Thailand, Minister Grisada Boonrach, Myanmar President U Win Myint also attended the ceremony.

The leaders from the opposition parties including former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, Congress President Rahul Gandhi and UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Chief Ministers of different states, ambassadors, diplomats, industrialists and celebrities from all walks of life also attended the event.
It was an eclectic gathering. Among those invited were the families of the BJP workers killed during political violence in West Bengal as well as those of one of the martyrs of the Pulwama terror attack.

After Shri Narendra Modi, Shri Rajnath Singh, BJP National President Shri Amit Shah, Shri Nitin Gadkari, Shri D V Sadananda Gowda, Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, Shri Ram Vilas Paswan and former foreign secretary Shri S. Jaishankar were administered the oath of office.

Others who took oath of office as cabinet ministers were — Shri Narendra Singh Tomar, Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad, Smt. Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Shri Thanwar Chand Gehlot, Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal, Shri Arjun Munda, Smt. Smriti Irani, Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Shri Prakash Javadekar, Shri Piyush Goyal, Shri Dharmendra Pradhan, Shri Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Shri Prahlad Joshi, Shri Mahendra Nath Pandey, Shri Arvind Sawant, Shri Giriraj Singh and Shri Gajendra Shekhawat.

Those who took oath as minister of state with independent charge are — Sarbshri Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Rao Inderjit Singh, Shripad Yesso Naik, Jitendra Singh Kiren Rijiju, Prahalad Singh Patel, Raj Kumar Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri Mansukh L Mandaviya.

The ministers of state are — Sarbshri Faggan Singh Kulaste, Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Arjun Ram Meghwal, V K Singh, Krishan Pal, Danve Raosaheb Dadarao, G Kishan Reddy, Parshottam Rupala, Ramdas Athawale, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Babul Supriyo, Sanjeev Kumar Balyan, Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao, Anurag Singh Thakur, Angadi Suresh Channabasappa, Nityanand Rai, Rattan Lal Kataria, V Muraleedharan, Smt. Renuka Singh Saruta, Som Parkash, Rameswar Teli, Pratap Chandra Sarangi, Kailash Choudhary, Smt. Debasree Chaudhuri.
After taking the oath PM Shri Narendra Modi tweeted, “Honoured to serve India!”
Prior to the oath taking ceremony Shri Narendra Modi also visited Rajghat, Sadaiv Atal Samadhi and National War Memorial to pay homage.

This is the second time Shri Modi took the oath at the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan. He was sworn in by the then President Shri Pranab Mukherjee in 2014 in the presence of over 5000 guests including the heads of SAARC countries.
Earlier, Chandra Shekhar in 1990 and Atal Bihari Vajpayee in 1999 were sworn in at the sprawling forecourt.

Notable, with a massive mandate in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won 353 of 543 seats in the lower house of Parliament.

PM Shri Modi can have as many as 80 ministers in the 543-member Lok Sabha. As per the Constitution, the total number of Union Ministers, including the Prime Minister shall not exceed 15 per cent of the number of members in the LS.

Historic moment for entire India. Congratulations to Shri @narendramodi ji on being sworn in as the Prime Minister of India for a second consecutive term. I am sure India will continue to scale new heights under your able leadership.

Congratulations and my best wishes to Shri @narendramodi on taking oath as the Prime Minister of India once again. I am confident that under Modiji’s stewardship India will reach to newer heights of peace and prosperity. Looking forward to my new innings as the Union Minister.

Congratulations to Sh.@narendramodi ji on taking oath for the second time as the Prime Minister of India. I wish the very best to all the members inducted in the Union Council of Ministers. India is moving steadfast on the path of progress under leadership of PM @narendramodi ji.

“Prime Minister, you gave me an opportunity to serve our countrymen and overseas Indians as the Foreign Minister for five years and personally, also, gave me respect throughout my tenure. I am very grateful to you. I pray that our government becomes very successful.”

My heartiest congratulations to PM @narendramodi ji on taking oath as Prime Minister of India for the second time in a row with a historic mandate. Under his stewardship, India will scale greater heights. #ModiSwearingIn.

Congratulations to all the members of the just sworn in Council of Ministers led by @narendramodi I am sure the new team will do a great job together. All the best #ModiSwearingIn #SwearinginCeremony #OathTakingCeremony.

Sri @narendramodi ~ You inspire like no one has ever in past. As India admire your exemplary leadership, and robust vision, I join millions in extending my very warm wishes to you on taking over as 16th Prime Minister of India. बहुत शुभकामनाएं।@PMOIndia #ModiSarkar2.

“Humbled to be a part of the grand celebrations of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s oath-taking ceremony along with his Council of Ministers. I look forward to working with the new Government for Safe Childhood – Safe India.”

Congratulations to PM @narendramodi and his new Cabinet Ministers. We wish them the best & look forward to working with them on the growth & development of India & all its citizens.

Congratulations to all the ministers who were administered oath of office this evening. Best wishes as you begin a new term serving the citizens of our country. #ModiSarkar2.