PM announces setting up of ‘Shri Ram Janma Bhoomi Tirtha Kshetra’ trust

| Published on:

The Centre paved the way for the construction of the grand Ram Temple at Ayodhya, in accordance with the Supreme Court order of November 09, 2019 that ended the longstanding dispute.The independent Trust tasked with the building of a Ram temple in Ayodhya, Uttar Pradesh, will be called the Shri Ram Janmabhoomi Tirth Kshetra.

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi personally announced the Trust’s formation in a speech he made in the Lok Sabha on 05 February, 2020 as Members of Parliament chanted “Jai Shri Ram” after its announcement.

Speaking in the Lok Sabha, the Prime Minister said, “I am happy to share with my fellow Indians that an important decision has been taken with regard to Shri Ram Janmabhoomi. These are in line with the verdict of the Honourable Supreme Court of India. “The Shri Ram Janmabhoomi Teertha Kshetra” will be formed and this trust will be completely independent.”

Later in the day, the government notified the formation of the trust. The Shri Ram Janmabhoomi Teertha Kshetra will have its office at R-20, Greater Kailash, Part-I in Delhi.

An independent 15-member team will be on the board of the Shri Ram Janmabhoomi Teerth Kshetra, which will always have a trustee from the Dalit community, Home Minister Amit Shah later informed.


The strength of trust will be 15 and that will be led by Shri K Parasaran, being referred to as ‘God’s advocate’.


Jagatguru Shankaracharya Jyothish Peethadheswar Swami Vasudevanand, Prayagraj

Jagatguru Madhavarcharya Swami Vishwa

Prasannatheerth, Udupi

Yugpurush Parmanand, Haridwar

Swami Govinddev Giri, Pune


Vimlendu Mohan Pratap Mishra – a descendant of Ayodhya royal family , Dr Anil Mishra, doctor Kameshwar Chaupal (SC), Patna – the Dalit man who laid the foundation stone of Ram Temple in 1989 during ‘sheelanyas’ organised by VHP

Mahant Dhirendra Das, Nirmohi Akhara, Ayodhya – the SC verdict in Ramjanambhoomi-Babri Masjid dispute had directed the government to give Nirmohi Akhara a seat at the trust table


The temple trust will select two persons by majority resolution to be part of the trust

One representative to be nominated by the central government, which will be a serving member IAS, at least of joint secretary level

One representative to be nominated by state government and would be a serving member of IAS under the state government

DM, Ayodhya will be the ex-officio trustee. If serving DM is not a Hindu than additional magistrate will sit on the board.

The chairman for development of Temple complex will also be selected by the trust board and will be an ex-officio.