Another jolt to TMC in Bengal

| Published on:

BJP takes control of Bhatpara civic body

After BJP breached the fortress West Bengal in the Lok Sabha polls winning 18 seats, the party on 05 June, 2019 took control of the Bhatpara municipality 33 km from Kolkata. The BJP has never run a civic body in the state and Bhatapara comes under the Barrackpore Lok Sabha constituency, where the BJP’s Shri Arjun Singh recently defeated TMC MP Dinesh Trivedi.

Shri Saurabh Singh was elected the new chairman of Bhatpara municipality after BJP won 26 votes in a confidence motion in the 35 member Councillor body.
We will work for the people of Bhatpara sincerely, said Shri Saurabh on becoming the chairman.