Assembly election results 2019

| Published on:

Arunachal Pradesh

The ruling BJP government in Arunachal Pradesh, led by chief minister Shri Pema Khandu, returned to power in the state with huge margins.

In Arunachal Pradesh, BJP won 41 seats out of the 60 assembly seats, JD(U) 7 seats, the NPP got 5 and Congress managed to win 4 seats only.


Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has came back to power in Odisha for a record fifth term as the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) won 112 of the 147 assembly seats even as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) notched up major gains in the state in the Lok Sabha battle.

Assembly elections in Odisha were held along with the Lok Sabha polls.
According to figures, Mr. Patnaik, who would join Sikkim chief minister Pawan Chamling and late West Bengal chief minister Jyoti Basu as a five-time CM, won both his Hinjili and Bijepur assembly constituencies against his nearest candidates by huge margins.

The BJP emerged as the main opposition party in the Odisha assembly with 23 seats while Congress was in just nine seats.

Andhra Pradesh

The Yuvajana Sramika Rythu YSR Congress Party headed by YS Jaganmohan Reddy, recorded a landslide victory in the assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, defeating N Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

The YSRCP won around 150 out of 175 assembly seats in the state, an increase of a whopping 83 seats compared to what it secured in 2014. The TDP, which formed the first government in the truncated Andhra Pradesh after the bifurcation of the combined state in 2014 by winning 102 seats, has ended up with just 24 seats — a sharp fall of 78 seats.

The YSRCP also swept the Lok Sabha polls in the state by establishing leads in 24 out of 25 parliamentary constituencies, leaving the remaining one to the TDP.


Opposition SKM ends Chamling’s 25-year rule in Sikkim
Opposition Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), led by its firebrand leader Prem Singh Tamang, popularly known as P S Golay, ended Chief Minister Pawan Kumar Chamling’s 25-year rule in the border state after a close contest.

Of the state’s 32 seats, Golay’s SKM won 17 seats, leaving the Chief Minister and his Sikkim Democratic Front totally stunned, who won 15 seats.

In a solace for the 68-year-old outgoing chief minister, he won both Poklok-Kamrang and Namchi Singhithang seats, on way to a record eighth term as a legislator.

After the Assembly election results in Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh and Sikkim were out Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi congratulated Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik for his Biju Janata Dal’s performance in the state Assembly elections.

“Congratulations to Naveen Babu for yet another victory in Odisha. Wishing him the very best for the next term,” Shri Modi tweeted.

The PM wished Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Shri Pema Khandu best of luck and congratulated YSR Congress Party head YS Jaganmohan Reddy for the landslide victory in the assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, defeating Telugu Desam Party and also wished SKM in Sikkim for its victory.