BJP forms government in UP after historic victory

| Published on:

Adityanath Yogi takes oath as new Chief Minister

Five times Member of Parliament from Gorakhpur constituency Shri Adityanath Yogi was sworn-in as the 21st Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and the fourth from the BJP on 19 March, 2017 ending a 15-year hiatus. Before Shri Adityanath, Shri Kalyan Singh, Shri Ram Prakash Gupta and Shri Rajnath Singh of BJP had served as UP Chief Ministers.

BJP state President Shri Keshav Prasad Maurya and party’s National Vice President Shri Dinesh Sharma were sworn-in as Deputy Chief Ministers by Governor Shri Ram Naik at a grand ceremony at Kanshiram Smriti Upvan in Lucknow. Besides Shri Keshav Maurya and Shri Dinesh Sharma the Governor also administered oath of office and secrecy to 22 Cabinet Ministers. The other cabinet ministers sworn-in include Shri Surya Pratap Shahi, Shri Suresh Kumar Khanna, Shri Swami Prasad Maurya, Shri Satish Mahana, Shri Rajesh Agarwal, Shri Rita Bahuguna Joshi, Shri Dara Singh Chauhan, Shri Dharampal Singh, Shri SP Singh Baghel and Shri Satyadev Pachauri.

The rest of the Cabinet Ministers are Shri Ramapati Shastri, Shri Jai Prakash Singh, Shri Om Prakash Rajbhar, Shri Brijesh Pathak, Shri Lakshmi Narain Chowdhury, Shri Chetan Chauhan, Shri Srikant Sharma, Shri Rajendra Pratap Singh alias Moti Singh, Shri Siddharth Nath Singh, Shri Mukut Bihari Verma, Shri Ashutosh Tondon and Shri Nand Gopal Gupta Nandi.
The governor also administered the oath of office and secrecy to nine Ministers of State (Independent Charge). They are Shri Anupma Jaiswal, Shri Suresh Rana, Shri Upendra Tiwari, Shri Mahendra Kumar Singh, Shri Swatantra Dev Singh, Shri Bhupendra Singh Chowdhury, Shri Dharam Singh Saini, Shri Anil Rajbhar and Smt. Swati Singh.

The thirteen Ministers of State who took oath are Smt. Gulab Devi, Shri Jai Prakash Nishad, Smt. Archana Pandey, Shri Jai Kumar Singh Jacky, Shri Atul Garg, Shri Ranvendra Pratap Singh alias Dhunni Singh, Shri Nilkanth Tiwari, Shri Mohsin Raza, Shri Girish Chandra Shri Yadav, Baldev Olekh, Shri Mannu Kori, Sandeep Singh and Shri Suresh Pasi. With this, the Adityanath government has 24 cabinet ministers, including two Deputy CMs, nine MoS (Independent Charge) and 13 Ministers of State.

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, BJP National President Shri Amit Shah, Home Minister Shri Rajnath Singh, party senior leader Shri L K Advani, Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi , Several BJP Chief Ministers, all senior leaders of the party and thousands of Karyakartas were present at the ceremony, which was also attended by outgoing Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and SP senior leader Shri Mulayam Singh Yadav.

After taking oath as the new Chief Minister in his first brief media interaction at the Raj Bhawan he said, “I would follow Shri Narendra Modi’s slogan ‘sab ka saath, sab ka vikas’ and ensure all round development of the country’s most populous state. I am confident that the state will march on the path of development”. He also said BJP government’s efforts would be to provide good governance in the state.

Noteworthy,before Shri Adityanath Yogi, Shri Kalyan Singh, Shri Ram Prakash Gupta and Shri Rajnath Singh of BJP had served as Uttar Pradesh Chief Ministers.

Shri C B Gupta, Shri Charan Singh, Shri N D Tewari, Shri Mulayam Singh Yadav and Sushri Mayawati have served as Chief Minister more than once. Sushri Mayawati has the distinction of holding the post four times, while Shri Mulayam was CM thrice. Sushri Mayawati and Shri Akhilesh Yadav have to their credit having completed a full five-year term. The BSP supremo has also served the shortest term of four months when she first took over the reins in 1995.

In the Congress era of 1960s and 70s, the state had witnessed leaders like of Shri G B Pant, Shri Sampuranand, Shri C B Gupta, Shri Sucheta Kriplani, Shri T N Singh, Shri Kamalapati Tripathi, Shri Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna, Shri V P Singh, Shri Sripati Misra and Shri Vir Bahadur Singh holding the high office. Of them, Shri C B Gupta became Chief Minister three times. Shri Charan Singh, Shri Ram Naresh Yadav and Shri Banarsi Das served as non-Congress Chief Ministers with Shri Yadav and Shri Das holding reins of the state during the Janata Party rule. Shri Charan Singh, who served as CM twice, represented Bhartiya Kranti Dal.

Adityanath Yogi : An Introduction

Shri Adityanath Yogi was born as Ajay Singh Bisht into a Garhwali family on 5 June 1972 in the village of Panchur, in Pauri Garhwal district of Uttarakhand (formerly in Uttar Pradesh). His father Shri Anand Singh Bisht was a forest ranger. He completed his Bachelor’s Degree in Mathematics from the Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University in Uttarakhand.
He left home around 1990s to join the Ayodhya Ram temple movement. He came under the influence of Mahant Avaidyanath, the Chief Priest of the Gorakhnath Math, and became his disciple. Subsequently he was given the name ‘Yogi Adityanath’ and designated as the successor of the Mahant Avaidyanath. While based in Gorakhpur after his initiation, Shri Adityanath has often visited his ancestral village, establishing a school there in 1998. Shri Adityanath became a the head priest of Gorakhnath Math and was promoted to the rank of Mahant of Guru Gorakhnath Temple, following the death of Mahant Aavaidyanath on 12 September 2014. Shri Adityanath Yogi was made Peethadhishwar of Gorakhnath Temple amid traditional rituals of the Nath sect on 14 September 2014.

Shri Adityanath was the youngest member of the 12th Lok Sabha at the age of 26. After his first electoral win, he started the ‘Hindu Yuva Vahini’. He has been elected to the Parliament from Gorakhpur for five consecutive terms (in 1998, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014 elections). Shri Yogi’s attendance in Lok Sabha was 77% and he has asked 284 questions, participated in 56 debates and introduced three private member Bills in the 16th Lok Sabha.