Trivendra Singh Rawat sworn-in as the new CM of Uttarakhand

| Published on:

Shri Trivendra Singh Rawat was sworn-in as Uttarakhand Chief Minister on 18 March, 2017 after a massive victory of the party in the assembly elections. The BJP decimated the Congress in the Assembly election, winning 57 of the 70 seats. Governor Shri K K Paul administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 56-year-old Shri Rawat and nine ministers at a ceremony at the Parade Grounds in Dehradun. The ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, BJP National President Shri Amit Shah and other national and state party leaders.

Shri Rawat is the fifth BJP Chief Minister in Uttarakhand. Shri Satpal Maharaj, Shri Harak Singh Rawat, Shri Madan Kaushik, Shri Arvind Pandey, Shri Subodh Uniyal, Shri Yashpal Arya and Shri Prakash Pant have been made Cabinet ministers. Smt. Rekha Arya and Shri Dhan Singh Rawat took oath as ministers of state. Coupled with his administrative, organizational skills and experience, Shri Rawat emerged as the top leader in the state after a massive victory of the party.

After taking oath as the CM Shri Rawat said, “My own belief is that people in the state want opportunities that will help them grow. Therefore, our focus is going to be on development of the hills as well as the plains by providing suitable opportunities for people”.


Prime Minister Shri Narendra,BJP National President Shri Amit Shah, Union Home Minister Shri Rajnath Sing, Haryana CM Shri Manohar Lal Khattar Singh, Union Ministers Sushri Uma Bharti, Shri Narendra Singh Tomar,Shri JP Nadda, Shri Dharmendra Pradhan. Senior BJP National Vice Presidents Shri Shyam Jaju, BJP General Secretaries Shri Kailash Vijayvargiya and SushriSaroj Pandey, MoS Shri VK Singh also reaches to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Outgoing CM Harish Rawat also reaches the Parade Ground to attend the swearing-in ceremony. His predecessors Vijay Bahuguna, Bhagat Singh Koshyari, Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank and BC Khanduriji are also present.

Trivendra Singh Rawat : An Introduction

Shri Rawat was born in December 1960 in the village of Khairasain in the Kotdwar tehsil, in Pauri Garhwal district of Uttarakhand (formerly in Uttar Pradesh).

He was the ninth and youngest child in the family. He obtained his Master’s Degree in Journalism from Birla Campus in Srinagar affiliated to the Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University. He joined the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh in 1979 before becoming its Pracharak for the Dehradun region in 1985. Subsequently, he joined the Bharatiya Janata Party.
He was made BJP’s organizing secretary for Uttarakhand.

He was also actively involved in the Uttarakhand movement, during which he was arrested several times. After the region received statehood in 2000, Shri Rawat was made the state BJP President. He was elected from Doiwala in the State’s first legislative assembly elections in 2002. He retained his seat in the 2007 elections and served as the State’s Minister of Agriculture. As National Secretary of the Bharatiya Janata Party, he served as in-charge of Jharkhand State. In 2017 Shri Trivendra won from the Assembly constituency of Doiwala.